Eckhaus named to Stats Perform Jerry Rice Award Watch List

Orignally published on 2021-10-27 16:22:36 by

SMITHFIELD, R.I. — Bryant University freshman quarterback Zevi Eckhaus is one of 22 players named to the Stats Perform FCS Jerry Rice Award watch list, which is presented to the national freshman of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision, on Wednesday.

Eckhaus, who is the first Bulldog to ever earn recognition on the Jerry Rice Award watch list, is one of two players from the Northeast Conference to make the list. The list includes four quarterbacks, four running backs, four wide receivers, a defensive lineman, five linebackers, three defensive backs and one kicker. 

After coming on in relief in the season opener at Rhode Island, Eckhaus has started each of Bryant’s last seven games, going 5-2 as a starter. He’s enjoying the best season for a rookie quarterback in school history, completing 166-of-268 (61.9%) passes for 1,605 yards, 13 touchdowns and just two interceptions. Eckhaus is averaging 200.6 passing yards per game and 223.6 yards of total offense per game. He has posted 200+ passing yards and 2+ passing touchdowns in each of his last five games, earning NEC Rookie of the Week honors in each of those weeks. Among freshmen quarterbacks nationally, Eckhaus ranks fourth in passing yards per game, second in passing touchdowns, third in total passing yards, second in points responsible for, second in completions per game and third in total offense.

The Rice Award, now in its 11th season, is named for the legendary Hall of Fame wide receiver. Past recipients include Los Angeles Rams wide receiver Cooper Kupp (Eastern Washington), Arizona Cardinals running back Chase Edmonds (Fordham) and San Francisco 49ers quarterback Trey Lance (North Dakota State).

Joining the Rice Award watch list:

Demeatric Crenshaw, Youngstown State (MVFC)
Zevi Eckhaus, Bryant (NEC)
RJ Martinez, Northern Arizona (Big Sky)
Shedeur Sanders, Jackson State (SWAC)

Running Back
Elijah Burris, Hampton (Big South)
Kobe Dillon, Southern (SWAC)
Darius Hale, Central Arkansas (ASUN)
Sy’Veon Wilkerson, Delaware State (MEAC)

Wide Receiver
Nate Bennett, Portland State (Big Sky)
Jacari Carter, Merrimack (NEC)
Drae McCray, Austin Peay (OVC)        
Jalyn Witcher, Presbyterian (Pioneer)

Defensive Line
Thor Griffith, Harvard (Ivy)
Josiah Silver, New Hampshire (CAA)

James Conway, Fordham (Patriot)
Rodney Dansby, Houston Baptist (Southland)
Tyler King, Stony Brook (CAA)
Bryce Norman, Southeast Missouri (OVC)

Defensive Back
Marsean Fisher, Tarleton (WAC)
Andreas Keaton, Western Carolina (Southern)
Dominick Poole, The Citadel (Southern)

Blake Gessner, Montana State (Big Sky)

To be eligible for the Rice Award, a freshman can’t have surpassed four games played in one previous academic year – similar to the NCAA’s regular redshirt rule. More players can join the watch list before a 50-member, national media panel selects the winner following the regular season.

Also this season, Stats Perform will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Orignally published on 2021-10-27 16:22:36 by

Back to top button